Skip to content

Creative Q&A #1 – Adam Moyer

April 2, 2009

So I spend most my day developing questions to ask people, so it’s only natural that my work spills over into my time off. Anyway, I’m kicking off this new feature where I’ll ask creative people I like a couple of questions so we can all get to know them a little better.

Today’s inaugural Creative Q&A is with Adam Moyer. He’s a very versatile and inventive artist — and besides being an awesome artist he’s an eyewear maven, but more on that later. So here we go…


CR: What’s your artistic background?
Adam Moyer: I come from a family of artists– and lawyers.  The two occupations mix very well. I started collecting old books when I was 6.  At 7 I was tearing out pages and making collage.  I went to the University of Virginia and studied printmaking and bookbinding.  From there it was grad school at UC-San Diego.  From there it was my current location, a garage in Tierrasanta, San Diego, California.

CR:What’s your favorite medium to work with?
AM: Collage and books.  Cedar and Redwood.

CR: What medium would you like to work with?
AM: I want to build a canoe out of plexiglass.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
AM: My favorite artwork I ever did is a book I made in 2003 called ‘Inside U.S.A. 1973’.  It’s in the UVA Special Collections Library.  It was the first thing I ever made that made me feel like a real artist.

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
AM: British collage artist John Stezaker.  Haim Steinbach is still coming on strong.  My friends, artists Matt Coors, Regan Russell, and Seth Augustine are always BLOWING MY MIND.

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
AM: Man, I listen to this online radio station thing called Pandora.  You can even get it on your iphone.  You type in an artist that you like and it plays that artist and then other artists that are similar.  So I listen to the “Asia” Pandora station.  Not Asia the continent, “Asia” the band from the 80’s.

CR: What’s next for you?
AM: I spend about 80% of my time running my sunglasses company, Knockaround.  We just relaunched our website, added a blog, and were just featured on Daily Candy, so every day is busy.  But I still want to build those plexiglass canoes.

Well thank you Adam for taking some time away from your busy sunglasses empire to kick off this new project! Seriously, if you haven’t already linked over to the Knockaround site, you need to. Right. Now. Wicked sweet sunglasses that will make you as cool as that kid with the $300 retro Japanese import shades, but you’ll have so much money leftover that you can still eat for the rest of the week and you’re not trying as hard. And stay tuned I’ve got another tasty interview on deck for tomorrow!

P.S. If you like Pandora check out Slacker I think it has a little better music selection, but Pandora has a cleaner interface and its been around for a long time IMO.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 8:31 pm

    This is great babe!!! So cool that you interviewed Adam. Excited to read tomorrow’s interview!

Leave a Reply

