Skip to content

Creative Q&A #2 – Steve Kim

April 3, 2009
tags: ,

As promised here’s the next installment of Creative Q&A, my new project where I get creative types to answer a couple of questions so we all get a chance to better know the who exactly is making that awesome work.

Today, I’m talking to Steve Kim a wonderfully talented painter living and studying in the Los Angeles area.

mom_and_me11

CR: What’s your artistic background?
Steve Kim: I got my BFA from Art Center College of Design (in illustration,
shhhh) and I’m currently working on my MFA at Claremont Graduate
University. Before all of that, I liked to draw a lot.

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
SK:
Oil. But I’m not married to it.

trio2

CR: What medium would you like to work with?
SK: I’ve been doing some work with photography and video, trying to decide
just how much of that I want in my life. I’ve also been thinking a lot
about sculpture lately. There really isn’t a medium that doesn’t
interest me one way or another.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
SK: I generally like whatever’s the most recent.

kitsune_noir_diorama

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
SK: Besides my fiance Julienne Hsu who is always forcing
me to rethink how I approach painting, I don’t really know. Not to be
difficult or anything, but I always draw a blank when it comes to
these kinds of questions, which my instructors probably don’t
appreciate. I did think Nara’s show at Blum and Poe a while ago was
particularly mesmerizing. His paintings affirmed the old ‘must be
experienced in person’ addage.

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck,
record player, etc?

SK: 808s & heartbreak over and over again.

CR: What’s next for you?
SK:
I’m in a group show at Alphonse Berber Gallery in
Berkeley with about 10 of my paintings. The opening is April 17th. My
MFA show will be some time this November.

Thanks so much Steve for giving us a peek at who you are. Good luck with the group show in Berkeley and I would love to go see your MFA show in November. Keep us posted.

Check back soon for more editions of Creative Q&A. Enjoy your weekend eveyone!

Leave a Reply

