Skip to content

Creative Q&A #3 – Julienne Hsu

April 6, 2009

Hi everyone! Hope you enjoyed the weekend, it was beautiful yesterday. I’m kicking off this week’s Creative Q&A with the very talented painter Julienne Hsu. She, too, is living and studying in the Los Angeles area and happens to be the fiance of our last interviewee Steve Kim, which I did not know at the time of these interviews. These two have the potential to become quite the artistic power couple! Anyway, here’s our dialogue…
CR: What’s your artistic background?
Julienne Hsu: I was born in Taiwan in 1983 and immigrated to Los Angeles and studied at Art Center College of Deisgn. I am currently a MFA candidate at Claremont Graduate University.

juliennehsu1

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
JH: My favorite medium is oil, but I’ve also worked with watercolor and gouache.

juliennehsu2
CR: What medium would you like to work with?
JH: Another ‘medium’ that i would like to work with is film. I have an interest in documentary and have done some small projects in the past.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
JH: My personal favorite work is the “uniform” and “love as usual.”

JulienneHsu3

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
JH: James Gobel is blowing in my mind now. He gave a lecture at my school two days ago. I was inspired by his sincerity and honesty. As you probably know, there’s a lot of fake art talk that artists give and has nothing to do with their work but to sound intellectual and philosophical. It’s a delight to meet someone true to his work once in a while.

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
JH: I almost always play Nellie Mckay’s albums over and over when I work.

CR: What’s next for you?
JH: I’m currently packing and getting ready to move to LA, I’m excited about my new place.

Well Julienne, thank you for spending a few minutes with us and  good luck with the move! I’ve got a couple of more interviews on deck for this week so check back soon are more Q&A’s with amazingly creative people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

