Skip to content

Creative Q&A #11 – Sarah Kissell

May 12, 2009

sr_bb_5

Hi everyone! Hope you enjoyed your weekend, I know I did. This week’s CQ&A features Sarah Kissell, a meticulous and multidisciplined artist from Minneapolis, MN. Besides a degree from the Minneapolis College of Art in Design, she’s had some envious internships with heavy hitters, such as Anthropologie and Urban Outfitters. Her work often explores the world of high fashion – its consumption and social context. I especially enjoy her Still Remains project which is described as “a celebration of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’ birth as an icon through the assassination of President John F. Kennedy.” You can read my interview with Sarah and see more images of her work below.

fr_poster_01

CR: What’s your artistic background?
Sarah Kissell: It all started when my mom used to take me to the Minneapolis Institute of Arts on rainy days when I was a kid growing up. Then some 10-15 odd years or so pass and I decided to take my passions to college, where I attended the Minneapolis College of Art in Design, of which I graduated this past semester with a BFA in Graphic Design. I also studied a semester abroad at the London College of Communication.

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
SK: Laser xerox printer/copier and a scanner.

CR: What medium would you like to work with?
SK: Collaboration. Is that a medium? I really enjoy working with others, especially photographers. In the future I’d love to work with writers as well.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
SK: My senior thesis, Still Remains is definitely high up there. The most rewarding for sure.

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
KS: Always has and probably forever will be, Petronio Associates.

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
KS: METAL

CR: What’s next for you?
KS: Looking for a job. Any takers?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

