Skip to content

Creative Q&A #14 – Stephen Eichhorn

May 26, 2009

eichhorn-3

I hope everyone had a long, relaxing weekend. I spent much of my time at the beach and watching the NBA playoffs – it was awesome! This week’s CQ&A is with Stephen Eichhorn, an amazing collage artist that specializes in making new and creative foliage out of separate images of plants. See my interview and more images of Stephen’s work after the jump: 

CR: What’s your artistic background?
Stephen Eichhorn: I have a BFA from The School of the Art Institute of Chicago with a focus in Sculpture and Architecture (mainly Architectural History).

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
SE: I work mainly in hand cut collage, so I guess that’s my favorite at the moment, but I also do some drawing and am working on some medium sized sculptural projects.

CR: What medium would you like to work with?
SE: I would like to work on an even larger scale with the collage work.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
SE: At the moment I’m excited about this series of rock pile collages I’ve been developing for the past year, but no specific work is my absolute favorite.

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
SE: Jessica Paulson (always), Brion Nuda Rosch , John Opera , Thad Kellstadt, Jesse Brown , architect Terunobu Fujimori, Creatures of the Wind , Cody Hudson , New Catalogue (Luke Batten and Jon Sadler), and Greg Stimac .

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
SE: It’s kind of all over the place but I listen to a lot of NPR during the day, and after “The Story” program I usually switch over to: my friend Rob Lowe’s band Lichens, an audio book of Neil deGrasse Tyson’s book “Death By Black Hole,” The Berg Sans Nipple, Black Sabbath, GZA’s “Liquid Swords,” Caribou, Sonic Youth, Animal Collective, Why, and a lot of TV on the Radio.

CR: What’s next for you?
SE: Just finished filming for a short documentary project with Alan Del Rio about my artwork and studio practice that I’m really excited about. Slowly working on a new website. Been working on putting out some new zines and small books in the coming months. One being a Cat Zine in collaboration with Jesse Brown and others. And some sculpture.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

