Skip to content

Creative Q&A #15 – Mary Emma Hawthorne

June 5, 2009

Hey Hey Hey! How’s everybody doin’? Sorry I’ve been laying low this week, I was busy editing over 1200 photos from my future-sister-in-law’s wedding that I attended last weekend.  With that many photos, it was kind of a time suck. You should see my Google reader – it probably has over 2000 new posts. I’m not sure the specific number since it stops counting after 1000. HA!

Anyway…I’m so excited to be posting this week’s CQ&A with Mary Emma Hawthorne. She’s a super awesome artist that works with collage as well as paint.

motherland

Check out my interview after the jump:

Africa final paper-35

CR: What’s your artistic background?
Mary Emma Hawthonre: I went to school at TCU and initially went for their renowned graphic design program, but once I took my first basic art class, I switched majors to Studio Art instead. I graduated with an emphasis in Oil Painting.

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
MEH: Currently, I work with collage materials, I collect old papers, from books, or scraps or off the ground and fabrics and envelopes…

CR: What medium would you like to work with?
MEH: I’ve always thought it’d be really cool to do an installation, but never have.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
MEH: I really like Holiday, it’s an oil painting, From the Birds, Apollo. Then for collage, I like Iceberg and Shields.

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
MEH: There was this really cool artist book by photographer Raymond Meeks that my dad had, that was put together nicely. It was inspiring!

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
MEH: Clementine, by Washington. Jars of Clay, the song that’s on the ‘Where the Wild Things Are’ trailer…I have to be honest, my husband introduces me to most all the music I listen to. That being said, I like music, and I definately have my favorites and dislikes, but I am more of a thinker. I enjoy the quiet b/c my mind is always wandering…

CR: What’s next for you?
MEH: I don’t know. This has been a crazy year thus far. I just cleaned out my studio, TODAY actually, and going to get back in there. Clean slate. We’ll see!

Thanks to Mary Emma for droppin’ by! Check out more of her airy collages in the gallery below as well as her blog. The aforementioned “Where the Wild Things Are” song is “Wake Up” by the most excellent, Arcade Fire. I’m surprised by how many people are just now discovering them through this trailer. You need to check out their latest album Neon Bible right now if you’ve never heard ’em, or at least hit up the song below!

Arcade Fire – Keep the Car Running
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

