Skip to content

Creative Q&A #16 – Hayley Carmo

June 10, 2009

ingoodtaste

Hey there everybody! Today’s CQ&A is with the uber-talented, multidisciplinary artist Hayley Carmo.  Her work often spans collage, pencil, paint, photography, and installation. Check out my interview with Hayley and more of her work after the jump!

relivingit

CR: What’s your artistic background?
Hayley Carmo: I’ve really been drawing, painting, making, since I was very young, the drawings I made when I was 4 are still very inspiring to me. I went to the University of Central Florida where I received my B.F.A. in printmaking and drawing. I’ve also studied in Rome, in Scotland at the Edinburgh College of art and also graduate classes at the Tyler School of Art. Most recently, I was fortunate enough to have an amazing experience as an apprentice at the Fabric Workshop and Museum.

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
HC: I don’t think you can beat straight up pencil on paper. It seems like the working man’s medium. It can be so subtle and delicate or super punchy. It’s all in how you handle it. Silkscreen is a close second though.

CR: What medium would you like to work with?

HC: Encaustic painting.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
HC: I don’t really play favorites, but at the same time its pretty difficult for me to ever fully disconnect emotionally from a piece. I am pretty attached to a small series of monotypes that I made while studying in Scotland. They just really remind me of what a great experience I had while there.

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?

HC: Right now I have a huge artist crush on Stepanie Dotson. I could stare at here mixed media installations all day long.

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
HC: Lately I have been listening to a lot of Mates of State, who are always fabulous live and Silversun Pickups in anticipation of their new album. Don’t forget MGMT and Lykke Li, over and over.

CR: What’s next for you?
CR: I’m getting ready to head to Brooklyn for the Renegade Craft Fair. I’ll have lots of original drawings and some tote bags made from hand printed textiles available. I plan on making more functional pieces under the name Kindly. Exciting, exciting- look for it soon.  And as always, working the 9-5, helping out the visual team at Anthropologie, here in Philly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lyn Tate permalink
    June 10, 2009 4:50 pm

    From your best fan.
    Keep it going young lady.
    You only have to be great at one thing so make it count!
    You know you are on the right track.
    I would love a pillow when Linda gets married!

Leave a Reply

