Skip to content

Creative Q&A #18 – Noran Bakrie

July 28, 2009

noranbakrie_sanctuary

Hey there everyone! Haven’t done a CQ&A in a while. I moved into a new apartment last month so I’ve been pretty preoccupied in my internet strolling by home inspiration type stuff. Hence, the copious amounts of posters and artwork for sale that I’ve been posting/buying recently. This week’s interview is with Noran Bakrie. Noran is a photographer living in Jakarta, Indonesia. Her warm, beautiful, brooding photographs of Southeast Asia are just fantastic! Catch my interview with Noran after the jump: 

noranbakrie_the_watcher

CR: What’s your artistic background?
Noran Bakrie: I’ve always been interested in any kind of art since I was a little kid. Maybe, my father. He was an architect, a gloomy cancerian and he writes swell poetry. He committed suicide 4 years ago, I’ve always looked at him as my silly personal Van Gogh. Or, maybe it’s just me being strangely attracted to dreamy concepts since I can remember.

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
NB: I shoot digital so far. So any camera I can grab, and a story in my head I need to tell, and my MacBook – are my mediums.

CR: What medium would you like to work with?
NB: I’m quiet flexible about the medium I’m gonna work with. The message is what matters.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
NB: Hmmm. No, actually. Haha. Don’t get me wrong, I’m just not a person who can choose which one I like the most. Well, I used to like “Strangers Are Lovers” for a while. No particular reason, it’s just a picture I can stare and floats me for hours.

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
NB: I really love the works of Ryan McGinley, Juergen Teller and Nan Goldin.

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
NB: Currently listening to Passion Pit, CALLmeKAT and Bibio. But Top 5 in my iTunes “Top 25 Most Played” would be: The Birds by Telefon Tel Aviv, Animals by CocoRosie, The Daydream by Tycho, Teen Angst by M83 and La Ritournelle by Sebastien Tellier.

CR: What’s next for you?
NB: I just quit my advertising day job. It’s a tragedy that I loathe marketing and commercials as much as I am good doing it, haha. For now, I just want a simple life and be completely content with what I want to do. Of course I need to pay the rent and saving for my next year relocating plan to Europe (I’m planning to study film in London), in that case, I probably gonna look for freelance and commissioned work opportunities. If anyone interested, I would be thrilled.

Thank you to Noran for stopping by and for creating such inspiring work. Good luck to you in all your future endeavors – London’s gonna’ be pretty brisk compared to Indonesia. See some more samples of Noran’s work below.
28_noranbakrieilied

11_noranbakrieyouwillstillfloat

11_noranbakriethegate
noranbakrie_strangers_are_lovers

noranbakrie_passing

noranbakrie_leave

noranbakrie_i_hear_the_planet_is_crying

noranbakrie_distance

noranbakrie_daydreamer
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

