Skip to content

Creative Q&A #20 – Tyson Anthony Roberts

August 12, 2009

Victoria, BC

Hey everyone! Really excited to be interviewing Tyson Anthony Roberts in this week’s CQ&A. His paintings harken back to the agrarian impressions of Van Gogh and the minimalism and geometry of Mondrian. Check out more of Tyson’s work as well as my interview with him after the cut:

Grays Harbor

CR: What’s your artistic background?
Tyson Anthony Roberts: While attending UC Davis I can remember seeing paintings by Mike Henderson, Gina Werfel and Hearne Pardee and thinking how inspiring and humbling it was to be in the presence of that work. I briefly worked at the Richard L. Nelson Gallery where I was exposed to a broader range of images and ideas. Living in the Central Valley of Caifornina for most of my life was in itself a key element to my appreciation for a variety of landscapes. I painted my first landscape in 2003 and have been developing ever since.

CR: What’s your favorite medium to work with?
TAR: Painting with acrylics is my favorite medium to work in.

CR: What medium would you like to work with?
TAR: I was thinking that LEGOs would be fun to work with, or maybe even colored pieces of tape arranged on a wall.

CR: Do you have a favorite personal work? If so, what is it?
TAR: I think my favorite personal work is always the one that it is on my easel. Right now that would be a painting of an aerial view of Northern California farm land.

CR: Who’s blowing your mind right now?
TAR: Naomie Kremer has been doing some notable work for quite some time now. She has these digital moving paintings that are fun.

CR: What’s in heavy rotation on your iTunes, or CD player, tape deck, record player, etc?
TAR: I’ve been listening to a lot of Tortoise, Cafe Tacuba and Cage’s new record ‘Depart From Me’

CR: What’s next for you?
TAR: I’m going to be doing some live painting at the Fremont Abbey Arts Center on September 15th, that should be interesting.

Ocean Shores, WA

North to Greenlake


3 Comments leave one →
  1. MotherKnowsBest permalink
    August 13, 2009 2:25 pm

    LOVE THESE!

  2. November 18, 2009 7:01 am

    Prints of my work are now available at 20×200

Trackbacks

  1. Tyson on 20×200 « AUCOTI

Leave a Reply

